What? A book series about a Karate Kickin Dwarf already?

It all started one day when I was in high school walking down the hallway during my senior year. As I walked past a classroom the schools eccentric chemistry teacher appeared in front of me.

“I have been looking for you.” I paused to think why she would be looking for me. I don’t like science and I am not enrolled in her class and don’t plan to. She said as she handed me a book. “I think you will enjoy this…” She turned and disappeared into her classroom.

I looked at the front cover it was Two Songs This Archangel Sings by George C. Chesbro. I didn’t think anything of it I just threw it in my bag and went on to my next class. – I am not the typical person to sit down and just read a book. The books I had read up to that point were assigned as homework. – It was a few days before I got around to reading the back cover of the book. Once I read it; I was intrigued.

The book is part of a series known as the Mongo Series. The series revolves around a little person who used to work as a circus performer. After leaving the circus he goes on to become a criminology professor at a university in New York City and moonlights as a private detective. His best friend teaches him martial arts and is a former spy. Mongo also has a brother who is a cop.

In Two Songs This Archangel Sings Mongo the main character goes to his friend and instructor Veil Kendry’s apartment to practice karate. Upon arriving he notices that Veil is gone. Mongo discovered that his friend was taken and he goes to his brother who is a New York City cop for help. As the two brothers look for clues into the disappearance; it is discovered that Veils past work in the jungles of Vietnam during the war have come back to haunt him.

After reading this book I got on eBay and bought as many books as I could find in the series. I went and started from the very beginning. I would love to go back and read them again. Too bad they’re not on Audible. According DangerousDwarf.com, rumors has it that Peter Dinklage from Game of Thrones is tapped to star in the HBO series the Beasts of Valhalla which is one of the titles in the series.

I have to say I never read a series of books that hit home on so many levels. No! I was not a circus performer. Sometimes I look back and compare myself to the main character. In the series Mongo never held an official rank as a martial artist. Veil did inform Mongo that he would be the equivalent of a brown belt. I have a brown belt. Mongo’s brother is a New York City cop. Well I don’t have a brother, but my dad was a deputy sheriff. As for the spy stuff – well that’s classified.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.